College Football Playoff: Random Observations While I Am Bored At Work

*Conference Champion
  • Only five teams have played in the CFP Championship: Oregon, Ohio State, Clemson, Alabama, and Georgia.
  • No #1 seed or #3 seed has ever won the college football playoff title.
  • Oklahoma has the most appearances without reaching the title game (3). They are also the only team to represent the Big 12 in the playoff.
  • All other Power 5 conferences have sent two members to the playoff.
  • Only two teams have reached the CFP without winning their conference: Alabama (2017) and Ohio State (2016).
  • Alabama (5), Clemson (4), Oklahoma (3) and Ohio State (2) are the only teams to appear in the playoff more than once.
*Rankings from 12/3/19

The current rankings lead me to believe that we will have a couple CFP firsts:

  • LSU can make their first CFP appearance.
  • This will be the first year Alabama is not in the CFP.
  • Utah and Baylor are in position to make their first CFP appearance – with some help.
  • Clemson can tie Alabama for the most CFP appearances (5).
  • Ohio State could be the first Big 10 team to snag the #1 seed.

That’s all for now. Let’s see how things play out this weekend before we get too far ahead of ourselves.

Some of us need to get back to our day job.
– Buzz

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: